My Selections allows you to curate a selection of Listings to review later, or share with your colleagues.
For Sellers, Selections can be used to promote your listings on Vuulr to Buyers you know. It is also required when creating your Screening Room.
There are two ways to create Selections.
- Creating a Selection from a Listing
- Creating a Selection from your Profile
Creating a Selection from a Listing page
First, let's explore how to create a new Selection from a Listing page. Often, you will be in a situation where you'll determine you want to create a Selection from a Listing's page.
You will see a Save to Selection button
Clicking on this icon will open a drop-down with some options.
- If you do not have any existing Selections, then it will look like the above screenshot. The only action you can take is click on "+ New selection".
Clicking "Create new selection" will show a text box where you can name it.
- Once you've created a new Selection, the next time you wish to save a listing, you will only need to "check" the checkbox next to the Selection you want to save to, then click Save.
Creating a Selection from your Profile
If you know beforehand what Selection you wish to create, you can do so from your profile page.
First, you'll need to access Selections from your Profile drop-down.
You will then be at the My Selections management page. Click Create New Selection to continue.
A form will show where you can name the new Selection
Clicking Save will save the new Selection, and it will then be shown empty:
You can now proceed to add Listings to this new Selection by going to Discovery.
Adding Listings to Existing Selections
When you're on a Listing that you wish to add to an existing Selection, click the Save to Selection button:
In the above case, you only have one Selection.
If you have more than one Selection, each will be shown:
You can "check" the checkboxes next to each Selection you wish to add the Listing to. Any Selection that is not "checked" will not be associated with the Listing. Any Selection that is "checked" will reference the Listing. Be sure to click Save to save your changes.
You can remove a Listing from Selection by "un-checking" the Listing at this stage.
Viewing a Selection of Listings
When you're on Listings, you will see a button that looks like this:
Clicking that will show a listing of Selections you (or your colleagues) created before.
Clicking on one of them will open in a new window all the Listings that were added to that Selection. (Note: If the Seller/owner of one of the Listings unpublished or removed the Listing from Vuulr, it will no longer appear in your Selection.
You can access the Selections management area by clicking on My Selections from your Profile drop-down.
Your Selections will appear showing you the posters that are part of the selection.
You will notice a few actions you can take on a Selection.
- Link icon - Obtaining a shareable link
- Email icon - Send an email to yourself with information about the Selection
- Edit the Selection (changing the name, privacy, and remove Listings added to the Selection)
- Delete the Selection
Clicking the link icon will show the unique URL to the Selection. Clicking the URL will save it to your clipboard for pasting in other apps.
Clicking the email icon will request an email to be sent to your email account, which you can then forward to someone else.
The email includes the poster artwork, title and short synopsis of the content in the Selection. Clicking on the titles will lead the user to the listing page within the marketplace to read the full synopsis, watch the trailer or browse more.
Clicking the pencil icon will open the Selection editor.
You can change the name of the Selection or remove Listings from the Selection by clicking the trash can icon on each of the Posters you wish to remove.
Be sure to click Save after any changes!
Managing the Ordering of a Selection
You can control the ordering of how the Listings appear when sending an email of a selection, or if your selection is used on a Collection, Custom Homepage or Screening Room.
(Note: this will not affect the ordering of how the Listings are presented when viewing a Selection in Discovery as that is dictated by several factors including age on platform, interest from other users, etc.)
1. Fixed Ordering
You're able to rearrange the ordering of the posters when this setting is enabled.
This can by done by clicking the left and right arrows on each poster:
2. Order by Time
There are actually two options here: Ascending (or Oldest First), and Descending (or Newest First). By Oldest or Newest, refers to the time at which the Listing was added to the Selection. So if you'd like a Selection to show an ordering of First In, First Out, you'd select Ascending, or Oldest First. If, however, you'd like a Selection to show an ordering of Last in, First Out, you'd select Descending, or Newest First.
If you're more inclined to rely on chance, you can choose Random. Each time the Selection is loaded (or emailed), the Listings will be shown in random order.
You can simply delete a Selection by clicking the Trash Can icon. Do note that anyone who tries accessing a shared Selection in the future will see an error message.